Modern Era



It wasn’t until 1988 when a group of promoters, including Pedro Dávila and Eduardo de León managed to revive the great “Carrera Panamericana” by inviting the main automobile and motorsport associations to participate once again. The event was reserved only for cars built between the ages of 1940 and 1965; depending on their category but allowing them to be modernised by updating the suspension and other safety features.

For the first few years of the event the start would be from the city of Tuxtla Gutiérrez in the beautiful State of Chiapas in southern Mexico; but in 2009 it began from the coastal town of Huatulco in the state of Oaxaca. In 2010, it started once again from Tuxtla and in 2011 it returned once more to Huatulco. In 2012 and then again in 2014, the race began from the colonial port city of Veracruz. The finish of the race has also alternated between the cities of Nuevo Laredo, Zacatecas and Durango.

Since the beginning of the modern editions, the race has been held on federal and state highways as well as on secondary paved roads over seven days covering approximately 3,000 km depending on the route for that year.


The cars are now divided into four Groups and nine categories:

  • Group A – “Panamerican” cars in the categories of: Stock Tourism, Tourism Major, Sport Major and Sport Minor;
  • Group B – Historic cars in the categories of: Historic A, A Plus, B and C;
  • Group C – Original “Panamerican” cars;
  • Group D – Exhibition cars. This group is for all other cars that cannot be grouped into the other groups. In this group the cars are not eligible to receive prizes as their results are not tallied.

The legend continues…

La carrera Panamericana


“La Carrera Panamericana” has been the most important and longest running open road race in the world; even greater than the famous Mille Miglia and the Targa Florio of Italy. The event, recognised as such by the international press has garnered the attention of speed loving enthusiasts who have set their eyes on México as the host to this incredible race and as an incredible tourist destination. Many never seen before models from Ferrari, Osca, Lancia, Mercedes, Porsche, Masserati as well as north american models will be present.

Read more…